Category Archives: General Announcements

OB Planning Board Takes Position on Regulation of Vacation Rentals

At its meeting on November 4, 2015, the Ocean Beach Planning Board adopted the following letter to City Councilmember Lorie Zapf in response to her proposed regulations on vacation rentals in San Diego:

This letter takes into account the input received by the OB Planning Board and OB Town Council in our joint meeting on September 21, by community members in the Community Planners Committee meeting on September 22, as well as over four months of discussion and deliberation at our regular Board and committee meetings.

Ocean Beach is one of the most affected neighborhoods by this proposed change in legislation.

The community is committed to finding an equitable solution that balances the desire for residents to maintain the integrity of their neighborhoods with long term residents, as well as for owners to rent out their homes for a portion of the year. Our goal is to strike compromise with both groups to develop the best outcome possible.

– John Ambert, Chair


OB Planning Board Adopts Policy on FAR Deviations for Sustainable Development

At its meeting on October 21, 2015, the Ocean Beach Planning Board adopted a policy on acceptable deviations to floor area ratio (FAR) under City-mandated incentive programs for sustainable development. Download the policy here:

More policies, resolutions and letters by the Ocean Beach Planning Board can be found at


OB Planning Board New Postal Mailing Address

In an effort to reduce operating costs and support local business, the Ocean Beach Planning Board has a new postal mailing address, hosted by the OB Business Center. The new address is:

4876 Santa Monica Ave #133
San Diego CA 92107

This address will be used primarily for official mailings from the City of San Diego. For members of the public, the best way to contact the OB Planning Board is to attend our public meetings on the first Wednesday of each month (see Meetings for details).


OB Planning Board Lends Support to Naming Park for Ruth Varney Held

At its meeting on September 2, 2015, the Ocean Beach Planning Board voted to support the efforts of the Ocean Beach Community Development Corporation to name a portion of Ocean Beach Park (near Saratoga Avenue) for noted community volunteer Ruth Varney Held, as noted in the following letter:

More resolutions and letters by the Ocean Beach Planning Board can be found at



OB Planning Board Endorses SD Draft Climate Action Plan

At its meeting on June 3, 2015, the Ocean Beach Planning Board voted to support the City of San Diego’s draft Climate Action Planapproving the following letter to Mayor Kevin Faulconer and the City Council:

More resolutions and letters by the Ocean Beach Planning Board can be found at



More New Members

New Appointments

At its May 6 meeting, the Ocean Beach Planning Board appointed two new members to vacant seats:

Nanci Kelly

Georgia Sparkman

Visit the Members page to view the full roster of the Ocean Beach Planning Board.

Remaining Vacancies

As shown on the Members page, vacant seats remain in Districts 1 and 5 (as of May 6, 2015). Any member of the community may seek appointment to these vacancies, regardless of their district of residence.

If you are interested in seeking appointment, see



OB Planning Board Expresses Concern on One Paseo

At its meeting on April 1, 2015, the Ocean Beach Planning Board approved the following resolution and letter expressing concern over the recently approved One Paseo project in Carmel Valley:

More resolutions and letters by the Ocean Beach Planning Board can be found at



OBPB Certifies New Board and Officers for 2014-2015 Term

At its April meeting, the Ocean Beach Planning Board certified its election results, appointed new members, and elected officers for the 2014-2015 term.

The March 2014 election results were certified as follows:

  • District 2: Drew Wilson
  • District 3: Peter Ruscitti
  • District 6: John Ambert

With vacancies in several districts, the Board also appointed two members:

  • District 4: Seth Connolly
  • District 5: Jane Gawronski

Finally, the Board elected its officers for the 2014-2015 term:

  • Chair: Peter Ruscitti
  • Vice Chair: John Ambert
  • Secretary: Scott Therkalsen
  • Treasurer: Drew Wilson

For more details on specific seats and terms, see the 2014-2015 Term Roster.

Vacancies still remain in District 1 and District 7. If you are interested in seeking appointment, please see Serving on the Board.


SANDAG Transportation Planning Workshop: Fri, Jun 21

As part of its planning process for the new Regional Plan—which will be a combination of the documents currently known as the Regional Comprehensive Plan and the Regional Transportation Plan—SANDAG will be hosting a public workshop on transportation and land use this Friday, June 21. This is a great opportunity to provide your opinions to the real decisionmakers on regional transportation issues.

The workshop will focus specifically on transportation and land use issues, to include the following topics: emerging transportation technologies, parking and pricing, active transportation, land use scenarios, mobility, and transportation project evaluation criteria.

SANDAG will have experts on hand to explain these issues and answer questions, and is seeking as much public input as possible.

Where: Caltrans District 11 (Garcia & Gallegos Rooms), 4050 Taylor St, San Diego CA 92110 (map)
When: Friday, June 21, 11:30am-1:30pm
Lunch: Will be provided.
RSVP: To RSVP, contact Sarah Strand at, (619) 595-5609. You can also RSVP at the event’s Facebook page.

For more information on the Regional Plan process, see SANDAG’s San Diego Forward page.