The Ocean Beach Planning Board consists of 14 elected members, with two representatives from each of the seven districts that comprise the Ocean Beach Community Plan Area. Terms are two years, with the two seats in each district staggered so elections occur in alternate years. (Letters next to each district number indicate whether that seat is elected in “E”ven or “O”dd years.)

View more information the Board’s structure and operations.

View information about joining the Board.

Board Officers

Chair: Andrea Schlageter
Vice Chair: Kevin Hastings
Treasurer: Craig Klein
 Tracy Dezenzo

Board Roster

DistrictNameMember SinceCurrent Term Expiration
1ETracy DezenzoSeptember 2018March 2020
1OAnthony CiullaOctober 2018March 2019
2EElizabeth FelandoOctober 2018March 2020
2OTom GawronskiApril 2011March 2019
3EVirgina WilsonOctober 2018March 2020
3OAndrew WaltzMarch 2013March 2019
4ECraig KleinFebruary 2015March 2020
4OVacantMarch 2019
5ENuman StotzSeptember 2016March 2020
5OVacantMarch 2019
6EJane GawronskiApril 2014March 2020
6ODan DennisonMay 2016March 2019
7EAndrea SchlageterApril 2017March 2020
7ORichard AguirreApril 2017March 2019
At Large E Kevin Hastings September 2018March 2020
At Large ORichard MerrimanOctober 2018March 2019

Letters next to each district number indicate whether that seat is elected in “E”ven or “O”dd years.

Board Member Bios

Andrea Schlageter, Chair
District 7

Andrea Schlageter was born and raised in the Ocean Beach Point Loma area. A graduate of Point Loma High School Class of 2009, she went on to study Political Science and International Relations at Boston University (’13). She is thrilled to be back in America’s finest city and working on the Planning Board to help ensure that Ocean Beach maintains it’s unique neighborhood. She is also excited to be able to represent the needs of the younger and up and coming generations.

Kevin Hastings, P.E., Vice Chair
At Large

Kevin Hastings was born and raised in California, from the beach to inland Los Angeles, and in the small mountain town of Tehachapi. He graduated from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo with a mechanical engineering degree and has worked in the profession for 15 years, gaining experience with design and construction of high-rises, single family homes, and commercial projects. Kevin has lived in San Diego since 2004 and Ocean Beach since 2014. He has been active in the community, cleaning trash and graffiti from our beaches, volunteering his time at Town Council events, and fighting for OB’s interests at city hall. In his free time you might find him hiking our cliffs or at the dog park. Kevin and his wife Micki are raising their new family here and are committed to Ocean Beach for the long haul.

Craig Klein, Treasurer
District 4

Tracy Dezenzo, Secretary
District 1

Tracy Dezenzo has been an OB resident for over 22 years and is proud to represent District 1.

Tracy has been a graphic/web designer since 1998 and has had the honor of being a graphic design educator and mentor for many adult learners, interns and mentees for close to two decades.

One of her goals while serving on the OBPB is to educate and inform the community about the Board and empower OBecians to share their ideas for improving Ocean Beach.

She lives with her husband Bill and her rescue pup Ava.

Richard Aguirre
District 7

Anthony Ciulla
District 1

Anthony has 25 years experience as an aviation industry professional in addition to having 12 years in the construction industry/trades industry where he managed and operated a family-run plumbing contractor business including commercial and residential new construction and repairs.

He is married with two adult children and three grandchildren and he owns a home in Ocean Beach, where he has lived for two years. He also enjoys playing music, working on fixing up his beach bungalow and gardening.

Dan Dennison
District 6

Dan grew up in San Diego, spent five years in the Navy, has Masters of Business degree from Vanderbilt University followed by Planned Community planning, entitlement, development and management in four states. He is also very active in several community organizations. His goal is to utilize extensive planning and development experience to assist with OB’s future harmoniously syncronized with our Community Plan.

Elizabeth Felando
District 2

Jane Gawronski
District 6

Jane retired as Superintendent of the Escondido Union High School District in 1998 and moved back to Ocean Beach. While she worked at the San Diego State University Foundation doing research on the teaching and learning of mathematics she served on the OB Town Council and later the OB Planning Board.

“OB has an ambiance that needs to be maintained in a systematic, careful and caring way. I want to be part of the effort to make that happen”.

Tom Gawronski
District 2

Tom Gawronski earned his PhD in Molecular Biology from the Medical School at Dartmouth.  He worked almost 30 years Beckmann Instruments which became Beckman Coulter.  Tom moved back to OB in 1998 and is happy he did.

Craig Klein
District 4

Richard Merriman
At Large

Numan Stotz
District 5

Andrew Waltz
District 3

Andrew Waltz has been invested in helping provide San Diego with unique cultural opportunities. He has dedicated his professional and personal life to championing the arts as an avenue to raise the quality of life in the areas of education, civic engagement and sustainability. Andrew supports the NTC Foundation where he’s with its external affairs. Helping both lead and support the NTC Foundation’s 80 museums, galleries, artists, and numerous other non-profits in their arts mission, Andrew manages marketing and program developments for Arts District Liberty Station.

With a BFA degree from the University of Delaware, Andrew studied Interactive Media with a focus on Material Culture studies. While a student, he also worked for New Castle County government in Information Technology. During this time, he received a Service Learning Scholarship focused on technology development for non-profits. Andrew was the first alumnus elected to the Cab Calloway School for the Arts Board of Directors.

Over the last 15 years, Andrew has helped develop programs promoting creative outlets as a foundation for more enriching cultural opportunities, including teaching, board service and other volunteer efforts. Andrew worked for The Old Globe Theatre supporting marketing and PR campaigns. His civic work includes service on the Ocean Beach Planning Board and, in 2016, he was instrumental in garnering approval from the San Diego City Council for the Ocean Beach Community Master Plan update.

Virgina Wilson
District 3